Events at Muratie
Muratie tasting room review
07 May 2010
Walking through the cellar doors to Muratie's tasting room, one is immediately entranced by a sense of romance and a rich, deep history.
Paintings line the cracked, crumbling walls and cobwebs cover the windows, transporting one back to a time of horse wagons and men in petticoat breeches, while old newspaper clippings are testament to the stature of this wine farm.
It's not surprising that romance permeates the building as love stories have been the foundation of the farm since 1685 when a German soldier by the name of Lourens Campher was allocated the piece of land. Campher had fallen in love with a slave girl, Ansela, and for 15 years walked through the Simonsberg to Cape Town to visit her.
When in 1699 she was freed, Campher brought her to the farm where they became the first family to cultivate the land. Nearly a century later the Melck family bought the farm, which they owned for another 100 years before the land that would eventually become known as Muratie was sold off .
Muratie is a corruption of the Dutch word ‘murasie' meaning ‘ruin' - which reflected the disrepair and ill-fortune which had befallen the property by the time GP Canitz bought it in the 1920s.